Skip to content

Mr. President

November 5, 2008

obamawins

I just can’t seem to find the words to describe the overwhelming feeling I’ve had since Barack Obama officially secured the vote as the next President of the United States. My good friend, Quddus, seemed to be able to do so – check it out and let me know what you think. . .

The most incredible thing we’ll probably ever be a part of just happened. He hasn’t even been inaugurated yet but any word I use to try to describe the significance of Barack Obama being elected last night would be an understatement.

The changes in policy he promises to make are one thing but the shift in conciousness he already represents is another. I never thought I’d see Oprah huddled up in a crowd to see someone speak. I’ve never been in a room filled with as many amazingly pro-active people as the phone bank I got to volunteer at the past 3 days. I never thought I’d see the day a black man would become the President of the United States of America. We have proof of progress now.

I’m not naive enough to think this means racism isn’t still alive or that the political process has purged itself of corruption all of a sudden but this is a massive step in the right direction. Barack isn’t going to single handedly get us out of this recession or magically end the war in Iraq but every bit of discernment I have tells me he’ll do the absolute best he can. Now will each of us do the best we can?

I’ll tell you this much- campaigning for Barack has been another confirmation for me that getting involved is really where it’s at.

-Quddus


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

