Skip to content

Pete Wentz talks baby and drugs. . .

December 3, 2008

pete

In the new December issue of DETAILS magazine, Pete Wentz opens up a bit more about his life and druggy past.

So, just how did Wentz feel when he found out he was going to be a dad?

Pete says, “I was like, ‘Oh my God, this might be the worst possible time to have this conversation. I was definitely scared, just thinking, This is something that’s going to exist for the rest of your life and you can’t fuck it up…It was a happy accident. But I think that certain things happen for a reason in your life, and maybe it was time to put the wild child in the cage.”

Well, at least their baby was a happy accident. Wonder if Jamie Lynn Spears feels that way about her “accident”?

As for his childhood, Pete says, “I was diagnosed with ADHD and depression and, I don’t know, you name it­—whatever happened to be the trendy disorder that week.”

But as time went by Pete started suffering from severe panic attacks and drug use/abuse became more frequent.

He started taking pills which were “zombifying, you’re, like, drooling. For a while, I was a total drugstore cowboy. I had The Pill Book, which is awesome because I could learn every shape and number, and then be like, ‘Those are the blue footballs, those are the bars …'”

He even overdosed one time while parked outside a Best Buy and was finally persuaded by family and friends to go to the emergency room.

Thankfully, he was able to quit, saying, “After Heath Ledger, I was just like, Man, this is not going to end up good…I realized I found my soul mate, and it made me want to be a better person. Now, with the baby, I want to be the best dad I can be.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

