Skip to content

brad pitt + bill maher = great interview on real time

August 17, 2009
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Wondering in West Palm Beach permalink
    August 17, 2009 8:43 pm

    Greetings,

    First let me tell you a little about myself. I’m a 50 young old women and have never previously sat down and watched your show (my husband is an avid viewer) and I will admit that when I saw Brad Pitt, I sat down to watch (emphasis on the desire to watch).

    I have never, ever sent an email to a TV show, commenter or even a newspaper columnist. I am a Christian and I’m going to guess that more than three were watching the show with Brad Pitt. 

    I currently am not a “church goer” and I have been known to be critical of organized religions but I have never thought or requested that they should be silent. If everyone I disagreed with was silent, it would be a very quiet world.

    Religious groups are organizations of people with some commons beliefs. That doesn’t mean they all believe exactly the same, it just means they have the same orientation / initiations….and that is salvation.

    Now, I know that a lot of Christian will follow the advice and instructions of a religious leader without independently deciding the “issue” themselves. But, there are also lot of people that would follow the advise and instructions of Brad Pitt without independently deciding the issue themselves and (while I would rather watch him in movies) I would never think of prohibiting Brad Pitt’s right to talk about his thoughts, believes and desires; so why should we restrict those of Christians? What about prohibiting or restricting members of AARP or the NFA?

    Freedom of speech and freedom of religion is the basis for our country. I am registered as an independent and will confess that I have only voted a few times in my life (one being the last presidential election and I’ll let you make any assumptions you like regarding how I voted). An American flag is flown on our home and on our vehicles in support of our freedom to disagreed and our family get togethers are usually more enjoyable if we adhere to the rule not to discuss religion or politics!!

    Now, I’m not sure if you review emails on your show and will never know if you review my email (unless my husband recognizes the email of his wife of 31 years), but I hope I never have the occasion to “watch” Keanu Reeves on your show. 

    Wondering in West Palm Beach

  2. Wondering in West Palm Beach permalink
    August 20, 2009 6:17 pm

    what the

Leave a Reply

