Skip to content

simon cowell + american idol = negative

January 11, 2010

Simon Cowell has made it official — he is leaving “American Idol” after this season to bring his British hit “X Factor” to the U.S.

He said Monday, “There has been a lot of speculation, partly because we didn’t have an agreement. We reached an agreement at half past eleven this morning where we have agreed that ‘X Factor’ will launch in 2011 with me judging and executive producing the show. Because of that, this will be my last season on ‘American Idol’ this year.”

He continues, “We talked about me staying on both shows, but the practicality of that is impossible. I didn’t think it right for me to do two shows in America. I can barely do one. We had a lot of discussions. It was done very gentlemanly.”

There has been speculation that Paula Abdul will return to the judge’s table with Cowell on the new “X-Factor.” He reacts to this rumor, saying, “I adore Paula. Whatever happens, I will be working with her in some capacity.”

Cowell offered reasons as to why he plans to bring the British talent show, which discovered singer Leona Lewis, to the states, saying, “I want to do ‘X-Factor’ in America because I believe I can find somebody who is incredibly talented. This country has thousands of talented people waiting to be discovered. I want to find a star.”

“X Factor” will air on FOX in the fall, while “Idol” will continue to premiere in January.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

