Skip to content

civil rights + bus boycott = rosa parks taking a stand 55 years ago today

December 1, 2010

I’m not sure if its simply because I’m getting older and able to look back on my life and appreciate a lot of the liberties and freedoms I have today that a lot of my family and previous ancestors were not able to enjoy – but I want to continue to honor and admire those who stood before me. Rosa Parks is definitely one of those individuals.

I’m sure that on this day 55 years ago, Rosa Parks didn’t know that she would ignite the nationwide bus boycott (that would lead to the desegregation of public transportation) – but no matter what she was thinking or feeling on that day, it took a lot for her to stand firm in her decision. And for that and much more…I say thank you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

